January 18th 2025

About the AquaBike

Swim, bike, done!

The AquaBike returns to Pilot Bay this January!

Course Overview

Flat, easy course, great for first timers


2km swim, 90km bike

Entry Perks

Medal, goody bag & epic finish line experience

Entry Fees

Individual Entries Available!

Athlete Information


  • Opening Special $243 (20/05/24 – 26/05/24)
  • Early Bird $274 (27/05/24 – 30/06/24)
  • Standard Rate $295 (01/07/24 – 30/09/24)
  • Standard Rate 2 $317 (01/10/24 – 30/11/24)
  • Last Minute Rate $343 (01/12/24 – 15/01/25)
  • Onsite Rate $353 (17/01/25)

All prices are inclusive of the Race Roster Booking Fee of 5.5%

2025 Race Manual to come

2025 AquaBike Event Schedule to come

The AquaBike is run under Tri NZ Rules. The event runs 5 year age groups with your age calculated as at 31 December the year of the event. This will mean many of you will ‘age up’ one year.

The official Age Categories for both men and women are as follows:

  • 18-19
  • 20-24
  • 25-29
  • 30-34
  • 35-39
  • 40-44
  • 45-49
  • 50-54
  • 55-59
  • 60-64
  • 65-69
  • 70-74
  • 75-79
  • 80+

Prizes are awarded to the top three in each age group.

Triathlon New Zealand Membership

Triathlon New Zealand requires all participants in the AquaBike to be a TRIBE Member.

If you are not a current TRIBE member, one-day memberships are available and can be purchased alongside your entry ($27 per individual or team).

For more information on TRIBE membership, please click here

Triathlon New Zealand AquaBike Primary Selection Race

The AquaBike is host to the Triathlon New Zealand Primary Selection Race and is your chance to earn your spot at the 2025 World Championships.

There are 16 spots available per gender, for each age group!

Be sure to check the Eligibility Criteria 

2025 Start List to come

Finishers medals will be presented to all individual competitors at the finish line who finish within the cut off time. 

Finishers certificates will be available to download from results.racetiming.co.nz after your race.

The Athlete Recovery Lounge is open to all athletes to take some time to rest up and re-energize after crossing the finish line. There will be water, supplements, nutrition, sponsors products and massage available.

Massage – Post race massage will be available in the Athlete Recovery Lounge

Bike collection – transition will be closed until all competitors have started on the run course (approx. 1pm). An announcement will be made when you are able to collect your gear and only competitors with their Athlete ID band or your support showing your bike collection card will be allowed to remove items from transition.

Prize Giving – Prize Giving will be at 5pm in Coronation Park

2024 (2km Swim, 86km Bike)

MALE: Jamie Campbell – 2:24:51

FEMALE: Georgia Perry – 2:44:48


2023 (2km Swim, 90km Bike)

MALE: Michael Glynn – 2:39:32

FEMALE: Kate Brown – 2:54:45


2022 (2km Swim, 90km Bike)

MALE: Mike Crowe – 2:41:43

FEMALE: Sarah Gorman – 3:02:58


2021 (2km Swim, 90km Bike)

MALE: Stephen Sheldrake – 3:30:02

FEMALE: Kate Brown – 3:59:06


2020 (3km Swim, 120km Bike)

MALE: Michael Grain – 3:47:32

FEMALE: Hayley Gallagher – 4:09:28


2019 (1.3km swim, 40km bike)

MALE: Rob Haynes – 1.30.43

FEMALE: Claire Badenhorst – 1.38.26


2018 (1.3km swim, 40km bike)

MALE: Rob Haynes – 1.29.42

FEMALE: Melanie Burke – 1.35.41




half ironman ocean swim swim event road run event half marathon marathon lake swim mount maunganui ironman swim nz swim swimming event